And we’re off…

After a bit of a slow-go in the Knitting Tent department, due to silly rules and whatnot, I’ve managed to sort out venue with no childcare problems!
The problem at the church hall was what was I going to do if I was to end up with too many children to deal with, a problem I had thought of myself, but also thought, well, we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. Chances were I wouldn’t as toddlers go to school at 2yrs here, but I needed parents to have the choice, I didn’t want them to feel they couldn’t come just because they had children, I also wanted families to be able to create art together, thus building bonds between parent and child as well as bonds being built within the community.
The church hall owners were concerned about the insurance for children, with it being a community hall, I didn’t think it would be a problem, but they did!
So I contacted a group here called the Genesis Project, who are qualified childminders used to help people on a low income to get out to work, go to interviews, to get training and not have to worry about paying for childcare. They said no as I wasn’t providing a qualification and the creche would have to be separate…ok, so that wasn’t an option.
Just when I felt like I was banging my head against a brick wall, one of those little light bulbs flashed above my head! The Family Centre! Registered childminders and space…

It was all sorted in a day. The first session starts next Thursday, so it’s a night of redesigning posters for me, well no actually it isn’t as I’m off to keep a mate who’s feeling down company tonight, so it will be a very early morning redesigning posters, so I can get them out…everywhere!
I also need to change the name, long story, but it will be a Craft Tent, rather than knitting…some folks are very territorial and there is already a knitting group rivalry going on!

Sorry for the rant, but I do feel better now, and excited and nervous!

I am in love with this bamboo…it knits like a dream, very much like cotton, but silkier and has a beautiful sheen to it, I recommend trying it out, and at £2.50 ish for 50g, you can’t go wrong.

Shoulder bag is finally finished and ready to be sent off.

There is a pattern here if anyone is interested. I’m quite self conscious (or is it paranoid?)when it comes to writing patterns and don’t show them often in case I’ve missed out something crucial or not changed something I should have done, feel free to say if you think there’s something wrong, I won’t learn otherwise!

8 thoughts on “And we’re off…

  1. Wow, you really did a fantastic job with persevering and not giving up – and how great that in the end everything worked out, congratulations on that!
    The bamboo you’ve been working with looks so amazing, it must feel like heaven to the skin!
    And I really love the bag you’ve been doing – thank you so much for sharing the pattern, I will definitely give it a try!

  2. Good sticking it out there. There are just so many rules nowadays it is daunting to get anything going, but well done and best wishes for success.

  3. Great job of getting your program off the ground – should be fun!

    I am also knitting with bamboo right now, and while I also love the drape and feel of the fabric, I’m finding it kind of splitty, and have to watch myself a little more than I’d like – cuts into my CSI attention span… is that just me?

  4. You’ve been busy, I’ve missed a few posts because favs hasn’t been transferred to my new compy, adding all fav blogs to my blog now instead so you’re easy to find, can’t leave a comment on the newest blog entry above, that jazz yarn is gorgeous but very expensive!

  5. is it? I can’t see how expensive it is, probably because I’m unable to order it…I do like it though.

  6. Ditto about posting comments on the latest post – there doesn’t seem to be anywhere to post! Re the Bamboo yarn, I read an article in the latest Interweave Knits about bamboo yarns and it mentioned being carefull of the yarn when wet but will need to double check why as I’ve just loaned it to a mate! Am I going mad or have you a different page layout now?! Looking good anyway!

Leave a Reply

