ssssshhhh…..

*whispers* don’t tell anyone, I’ve discovered (well I knew for a while) I’ve been knitting Nora’s pattern wrong. I knew there was something not quite right, but I blamed it on the yarn being a bit bulkier. But when you see Nora’s sock, she has holes in the middle of her cables, I, on the other hand, do not. So I checked out her pattern,

Rnd 2 P2, *K1, YO, K1, P2; rep from * to last 2 sts, K1, YO, K1.

and I realised that I was doing a “yrn” rather than a “yo”. I think if I was writing it I’d have put a “yf” there instead, which then creates a hole.

(Don’t get me wrong, I’m not dissing your pattern, just reading it differently).

So my next plan is, to finish the socks (as the 1st is done), then do another pair, toe – up, with holes included.

Which just goes to show, I can’t stick to a pattern if I try!

7 thoughts on “ssssshhhh…..

  1. That’s a pretty interesting thing you mentioned here – when writing patterns, I usually also write the “yo” thing and think it’s okay that way – you gave me a new and different angle to look at that now which I’ll definitely think of when next writing a pattern. Thanks for that!

  2. I’m confused also but then these days thats nothing new. I have just bought a MCMORRAN BALANCE for yarn measuring and I can’t make head nr tail of the instructions !!! so am searching the web and getting even more confused . Thought this thing was supposed to help me; sorry I am ranting, busy day, dark corner beckoning ………

  3. Oh, I’m SO sorry!!!

    In Australia, we call it a YO (yarn over needle) but I’ve seen it written as YF, YRN too.

    I hope your sock doesn’t look too bad. Next time, please email me. I feel awful now…

Leave a Reply

