Prologue

I’ve been getting ready for the start of the Tour de France KAL. Researching the knitting of 2 socks on 2 circular needles and found what looks like a very helpful site here.

I’ve printed off a copy (for personal use obviously) to get a bit of practise in now.
I’m so looking forward to this, and pretty glad I’m not doing the actual race! Have you seen the route?

I had chance of a bit of me time today, with all the kids in school and an offer of a haircut for half price. I was a bit nervous to be honest, the last time I went to a hairdresser I spent £21 on a crap haircut! Since then I have just shaved my hair off during the hot weeks. As it doesn’t look like it’s going to get that warm this summer I decided not to get rid of my winter coat…and did this instead…

I’m well impressed, I had it washed, cut, blown dry and straighted all for £4.50. It was done by a trainee, but with supervision by a professional so really there was no risk of it getting messed up. I’m chuffed!
So, Pembroke Dock Community Web Blokes…spread the word, The Orange Room are doing half price deals if you get your hair cut by a trainee, well worth it!

And…I’ve been given a little present from Llanion Communities First and the Midsummer Festival Group for all my help….thanks guys!

7 thoughts on “Prologue

  1. The main thing to remember with the 2 circs is to make sure you are holding the same one that the stitches you are knitting are on, I did manage to knit all mine onto one needle, but it’s ok once you get the hang of it, I like it better than double points….hair looks nice too!!

  2. I wish I could offer some help, but I have only ever knit one pair of socks well, and that was with my friend the knitting teacher standing over me. 🙂 But there are lots of sock knitters in the TdF KAL who I bet can help!

  3. paying you a return visit 😉 And you live in lovely pembrokeshire, which I love!! Good luck with the 2 socks on circs, I can manage one at a time, but never tried two.

  4. Hi from a fellow polka-dotter.
    Your hair is much better than Bradley Wiggins… and I bet his was more than £4.50!!!

  5. Hello fellow Maillot de Pois Rouge! I haven’t yet been persuaded away from my trusty dpns so I will be cheering you on in admiration!

  6. Your new hair style looks fantastic, and I’m absolutely impressed by how little money you paid for it! I hardly ever go to the hairdresser’s because with my long hair I always get to pay a fortune – wow, I’d love to get such a deal too one day!
    Man, the Tour de France Route is absolutely impressive indeed – I’m getting tired just thinking about it! Good luck with the socks!

  7. I do knit on one circular but have never tried to do do them on two !!
    Great haircut 🙂 I haven’t been to the hairdresser for years as I loath it and as you say SO expensive. A girl used to come to the house and cut it but she has moved away, so since then Tony has been cutting it !!

Leave a Reply

