Feel the love!

I have to totally agree with Artis-Anne for her blog about communication. I love blogland, I thoroughly enjoy getting lost, going from one link to another visiting other crafty (and sometimes not) people, reading about their countries, their knitty/crafty information and all those amazing FOs WIPs UFOs out there.
There is some brilliant work going in blogland and as we are all linked in this hobby or job we are so proud to share, I always let them know I have visited regardless of whether they are successful designers or total beginners. I know when I receive comments on my work, it makes my day, it makes me feel proud, so why not do the same for others?
I guess that’s why I have received this award, The Schmoozer!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I copied this from Anne’s blog

“Schmoozing is the natural ability β€œto converse casually, especially in order to gain an advantage or make a social connection. Good schmoozers effortlessly weave their way in and out of the blogsphere, leaving friendly trails and smiles, happily making new friends along the way. They don’t limit their visits to only the rich and successful, but spend some time to say hello to new blogs as well. They are the ones who engage others in meaningful conversations, refusing to let it end at a mere hello – all the while fostering a sense of closeness and friendship”.

And I thank her with all my heart for this award!

But, yet again it leaves me having to pick out people to forward this on to and that is the hardest job…ever!

Bella Blu Mama – I have only just come across her blog, we have a few things in common and although I don’t “know” her that well, she took the time to reply to my messages, that’s enough for me.

The Cabled Climber – Christina – another reasonably new blog to me, we “met” during the Tour de France KAL, visiting other members as well as me, giving support and inspiration.

Blog – Blethers – for her endless support.

Right, well now that’s over, I’d like to introduce you to some…uh…thing.

I have been working (when I say working I mean, mulling things over in my mind, I have even lost sleep and patience over her!) on her for a while, and am pleased with the result…so far!

This is…The Beetle

Habu stainless steel wool (“wine” colourway) and 3 strands of Indian embroidery threads, 0/2 denier Viscose (Navy, Turquoise and Deep Green). Knitted on size 4mm Bamboo needles (I found these much easier than knitting this on the aluminum ones)

I searched and searched through my stash of machine knitting yarns for ages, twisting them and the stainless steel together, imagining how the fabric would look and feel, not completely happy with any one of them, either to harsh, too heavy for the steel to do it’s thing, or just the wrong colour.
I sat, head in hands, I wanted something light, something that would soften the wool, something with a bit of colour…I suddenly remembered my Indian embroidery threads that I had sent to me from Bombay…oh a long time ago now, when I worked in the fashion industry.
As I was going to knit with thread anyway, why not knit with two! Actually four, to make knitting easier. Well, I don’t know about you, but I’m pleased with the results.

Her intention is to become a rather long scarf, she’ll fit perfectly into my wardrobe of mainly black clothes!

Best keep knitting then eh?

14 thoughts on “Feel the love!

  1. hey! schmoozing in blogland is indeed a fantastic thing. I have made some of my best friends that way and come across people in other countries that I never would have met otherwise. It is a huge part of my life, not sure how I survived before it. Thanks for the mention!

  2. I never would have been so into knitting without the blogs.
    The very first blog I read was maingly a cross-stitch blog, which I also love to do. And I still read her today.
    I love seeing many people’s versions of patterns. Their color and fibre choices.
    I wouldn’t have as many things on the needles if it wasn’t for the inspiration I get daily from all the bloggers out there.
    ~
    Thanks for the nice comment.
    πŸ™‚

  3. thanks for the award. I’m off walking tomorrow, so I’ll update my blog with the award when I get back. I’d never have attempted to knit half the things I have if it hadn’t been for all those blogs with gorgeous FO’s on them πŸ˜‰

    I love the bluey colour of your project, it’s really pretty.

  4. I’ve seen this steel yarn metioned in various places not and just have to ask – is it really metal? What’s it like to knit with and does your knitting stand up rigid? Can I think of anymore silly questions? It is a beautifully stunning colour BTW can’t wait to see the FO!

  5. Can I have an Anti-Schmoozer award? πŸ™‚ I love love love what you’ve used your steel wool for, I take it you will be posting the pattern in the near future…How did you get on with Ravelry BTW?

  6. I don’t even have the words to tell you how completely in love I am with those gorgeous blue colors. GAH. Beautiful.

    (By the way…my daemon switched shape again since you took the test; someone else must have taken it after you. He’s gone from a fox to a tiger to a hawk to a wolf! The books are really good; I whole-heartedly recommend them.)

  7. Come here, you wee minxy … I could just kiss you! Thank you so much for the award – I’m not sure that I deserve it but it means such a lot to be nominated by you. That’s what I love about here – the warmth, generosity and understanding shown to fellow crafters, even if we’ve not met IRL. I love reading your blog and will continue to be inspired by your all-round creativity… And THAT scarf! It’s stunning – the shades complement the other so well and I so admire your patience and dexterity! Can’t wait to see progress pics in the near future! And thank you again, R – you made an old grumps smile (and blush)!

  8. Ingenious! The colour combination is amazing.

    Congratulations on the Schmoozing Award – very deserving – and thank you for your support and lovely comments. x

  9. Congratulations on your ability to schmooze! And your sample is beautiful – love the threads with the stainless steel yarn – don’t you love that there is such a thing as stainless steel yarn?! Never fails to amaze me…

  10. WOW WOW WOW !! Love the knitting, LOVE the colour and so looking fwd to seeing it done.
    You so deserve the award hun πŸ™‚ We’ll just carry on schmoozing ey ;-)?

  11. Congratulations on your award – you certainly deserve it! I so agree with you about leaving comments – I’m always so happy when people comment on the stuff I’m doing, so why shouldn’t I do the same for others and thus making them a bit happy too, perhaps?
    And my gosh, your recent work is ever so beautiful – these shades of blue almost made me drool! I’m soooo into blues in all shades and variations lately, and these are certainly marvellous ones! Your knitting looks awesome – I can’t wait to see more of it!

Leave a Reply

