UK Swap contest:Topic of the Week #1: Knit-Years Resolutions

With 2008 in full-swing, do you have any knit-years resolutions you are trying to keep to? Stash-busting? Knitting just for yourself? Gift-alongs or starting Christmas knitting early? Do your knit-years resolutions affect your other resolutions? Such as watching your spending, or putting yourself first, or even loosing weight (yarn weight….)?

I actually only make Knit-Years Resolutions, the others always go down the pan before the first week is up. At least the knit-years resolutions I tend to keep to, she says:

I made my new years resolutions earlier this year, which was: As I am now working full time, I need to finish a project before moving on to the next.

Which I think is best if I edit it a little to something more like: As I am now working full time, I need to finish a (knitting) project (unless the new project can be finished within 24 hours) before moving on to the next.

As you can see below, the original resolution wasn’t going very well at all. Btw, Big J’s jumper was going quite well until he tried it on and decided it was a bit too tight around the tummy, so it has been frogged, more stitches added and being re – knitted! I will finish it by the end of the month, I will!

6 thoughts on “UK Swap contest:Topic of the Week #1: Knit-Years Resolutions

  1. I think the modification is only reasonable, and that this is a resolution that I should also take! Thanks for dropping by my blog – a bit of comisseration goes a long way!

  2. that (modified) resolution sounds good to me! for some reason, i’ve been able to focus on just one or two projects at a time lately, but i keep coming across new temptations. good luck with the jumper.

  3. I think that is a great resolution. I’m actually trying to work on that now…finishing a few WIPS before starting a big new project. Glad to know others are doing the same!

  4. No I don’t think the modification is fair, I mean you need to be free to knit Itchy Scratchy Pants! Itchy Scratchy Knitted Pants…Now Now Now (sorry if I sound like a wailing Banshee I’ve been to the dantist ;-))

  5. Sorry if I wasn’t making sense, what I meant to say was I’m just encouraging tou to be BAD and cast on and start as many projects as possible, finishing..PAH finishing is for wimps!!

Leave a Reply

