If at first you don’t succeed…

Short rows…personally I hate them. I just feel there are tidier, easier ways to shape the toes, there are smarter and more hard-wearing heels and don’t see the point in hassling myself with the short row versions. The first sock I attempted to knit suggested short row toes and heels, I made a right mess, you could have used the heel as a tea strainer, there were that many holes!
But, whether I liked them or not, I had to perfect them.
Remember the little competition I had about finding me the perfect sock, which ended up being this one, which also uses short rows.
Originally I used the figure-of-eight cast on and a gusset&flap heel, but after reading Knitting Daily recently, about fearless knitting, I felt I should master the short row toe and heel.

after several attempts, I ended up with these…I think I got there in the end.

The heel is still a bit holey, but not too bad.

Jack Sparrow’s favourite socks, knitted in Patons Diploma Gold and Freedom Spirit (Twilleys of Stamford) on 5 2.25 dpns.

The next UK swap contest thingy:

Q: Do you subscribe to any magazines (knitting or otherwise)? Or do you prefer to purchase magazines at the newstand? Do you subscribe online to any knitting magazines/newsletters? What does a knitting magazine need to have to catch your fancy and get you to fork out that well-earned cash?

I used to subscribe to Simply Knitting but got bored of it, so stopped that, I then started buying Let’s Knit, but they don’t sell it here anymore which is annoying, if I want a magazine regularly then I have to subscribe.
I came across Knit1 from a secret swapper and love it, the patterns are so different and unique, but as it’s from abroad, the chances of getting it are slim.
I’m considering subscribing to the magazine “Knitting”, again because it’s a bit different from the norm.

I’ve never even seen this one!Knit Today

As for online, I do subscribe to Knitting Daily, which does have some lovely free patterns now and then, and that’s free!
And this one, Rebecca, has some nice cheaply priced patterns too.

What does a magazine need to catch my eye? Patterns I’d like to knit, interesting articles about new yarns and inspirational designers, not much to ask for is it?

5 thoughts on “If at first you don’t succeed…

  1. I don’t do short row toes, I do the opposite to the decreases that you work when you do a top down sock, I have perfected short row heels by double wrapping the stitches, and now that I’m a short row expert…(famous last words) but I even work short row shoulders slopes to get a nice smooth line with no bumbs! I love Knit 1 magazine, we have a very good newsagents over in Bexhill who stock it!

  2. i don’t have much experience with short rows, as i’ve only used them on one pair of socks, but they seemed ok. i had a much harder time with the provisional cast on and picking up the right number of stitches. your short rows do look quite good. congrats on mastering something new!

  3. I have been contemplating whether to confront my short-row dislike and go for short-row toes on my new socks, or stick with tried and true…I am inspired by your efforts! Be not afraid! So thanks.
    Also, secretly, I’m your UK Swap pal! I’m really enjoying reading through your blog….

  4. oooh hello, pleased to meet you. At least now I know I’m not just saying I dislike them because I can’t do them, I really don’t enjoy short rows!

Leave a Reply

