Topic of the Week #3: Project Process

Q: What is your process when planning a project? Do you shop for yarn and then find a suitable pattern? Do you find your pattern and then go out to buy the yarn? Or are you stash-busting? If your stash is out of control, how did it get that way?

Uh, yes, yes and yes…It depends really, sometimes I like a pattern, so buy it, see if there’s anything in my stash that can be used, if not then it sits in my pile of patterns either collecting dust or when I see the yarn for it, I buy it.
Or…sometimes I see yarn, buy it anyway with no particular pattern in mind until I find the time to leaf through all the patterns which are sitting in the corner collecting dust.
Is my stash out of control? Oh yes, although not as bad as some, I still don’t have the room for it all.
How did it get that way? I have no idea…(smiles sweetly and flutters eyelashes)

This WIP came about by finding a pattern and the yarn within a week of each other, which is quite amazing for me, but then Big J has been hassling me for some time about knitting him something and quite frankly I just want to get it over and done with now. Having had to knit the body twice, it’s getting boring, although I am enjoying the Durrow Cable,

so the sleeves are nearly done…just gotta get on with the round and round and round thing….(sighs)

After talking about favourite knitting magazines last week, I searched the net for somewhere in the UK where I could get the Knit1 magazine and found one right under my nose! K1Yarns stocks it, so, naturally I bought the Winter edition right away!
Oh and it’s good!
I don’t think I could survive the summer without making this…

And there is a gorgeous “Baby Doll” top/dress which involves a bit of this…

If you don’t know, it’s for knitting pleats…how many needles are there? Got to be done, or at least tried!

Less of the dreaming now, gotta get on with this endless round and round and round thing

5 thoughts on “Topic of the Week #3: Project Process

  1. Durrow is looking great and I look fwd to seeing you in that skirt this summer šŸ™‚
    Crikey all those needles to juggle with , good luck!!

  2. Hey, at least you’re honest with yourself with your knitting vagaries! I think I started Durrow once, then gave up (can’t remember why?). What yarn are you using?

    Oh, that skirt (plus guitar accessory) – brings back memories… ‘are you going to San Francisco’, etc, etc… sigh.

  3. I think Durrow looks terrific – at least the colour changes help a little with the round and round? Maybe?

    And the needles for the pleats has really piqued my curiousity – I’ve done them before, but not like that – how clever!

  4. Durrow is looking good. It’s always good to have a bit of interest to add to a pattern, even if the rest is unexciting. Good luck with the finishing!

    I’m intrigued by the knitted pleats. It looks like a lot to juggle, but an interesting technique. Sometimes it’s easy to forget how much I still don’t know about knitting and all the little tricks there are.

  5. I agree, I’ve been hand knitting for years, I even studied knitwear at uni but it seems to me that there is always something else to learn.

Leave a Reply

