Reduce, re-use, recycle…

What a day!

As mentioned in the previous post, there was a “Recycling Day” held at the Youth Centre here, with Fair Trade people, Cloth Nappie promotion, swap shops, Composting people, a very nice lady making things out of old tyres and rubber, who I had intended to go and see, and have a go, but alas, I didn’t have the time, I was too busy in my own little corner, recycling old clothes.
And as usual, I forgot my camera, and it seems everyone else did too! I did have my phone, so although the pics aren’t very good, there are some.

With the help of some old clothes, crafts glue, invisible seaming bond-a-web
a Gem thingy, and some very enthusiastic children, we had a fantastically great day!

A friend’s daughters made loads of items, including these jeans:

A bag and purse set made from an old jacket and a tee shirt:

I had a couple of lads who were very interested in making things for their younger siblings:

There were dressing up clothes, dresses,

hair accessories, scarves, blankets for dolls and all sorts made…all designed by the children (obviously I gave them a few pointers and help with the iron) and it was great to see them rummaging through the clothes, checking colours, sizes, possibilities and really thinking things through.

Well done to you all!

While I was looking through websites during this post I found these which may be of interest:

Bondaweb
Bigwardrobe.com

I had a great surprise on Friday afternoon, I had purchased some yarn from the one and only Posh Yarns:

and

on Friday morning, probably around 6am, J handed the parcel to me that evening! They were hand delivered, all the way from Bosherston. To get anything in the same week is pretty good going for Pembrokeshire.
Thank you so much Dee, they feel yummy!

5 thoughts on “Reduce, re-use, recycle…

  1. Recycling day looks like it was fun! Maybe if everything “green” was more fun, we’d all be better at it.

    Those yarns look lovely–wonderful colors. I bet they’ll be terribly enjoyable to knit with.

  2. I love Dee’s yarn! The blue one look amazing I can’t wait to see what you will make out of it!

    BTW the three-hours-sweater DOES NOT take 3 hours to make!

  3. Ooooohhhhh, Posh yarn… it’s on my ‘must play with it before I die’ list – looks just lovely… and hand-delivered? Wow…

Leave a Reply

