The Calling…

which after reading about Clarabelle’s Veronica Socks (Ravelry link), started out a bit like this:

“ooh, two handed knitting, I think I can remember how to do that”

and receiving 6 free yarn bobbins in this months Simply Knitting magazine

and “Oh, the girls get loads of knitted clothes, I really need to knit something for Ollie and Dyl”

And so, with Jasmine as my guide, Dr Who DVD’s as our fuel, we sat looking through tons (and I mean TONS!) of knitting magazines to find all patterns for boys, and there it was, like a shining light. “The Boy’s Slipover” in “Woman’s Weekly, Knitting and Crochet”

And I expect you’ve guessed it’s a Fairisle .

tank.jpg

Click pic for larger image

Knitted in any wool I could find, which was King Cole (green) Merino Blend, I had the most of this one, so the main part of the jumper is green with Twilley’s of Stamford “Freedom Spirit” (red and blue), Wendy’s Merino DK (purple) and Wendy’s “Peter Pan” (blue) in the patterny bits.

fairisle.jpg

I always forget how much I love colour work. In the back of my mind I think it’s going to be time consuming, but I forget how quickly it grows because I’m desperate to see how the pattern looks.

This, I hope will be finished by the beginning of next week (famous last words) so I can do something with this:

shlunk.jpg

click pic for larger image

I’m thinking Muir, by Rosemary Hill or Print o’ the Wave, by Eunny Jang, but I’m not sure yet. If you don’t hear from me by the end of April, it’s possible I’ve gotten lost in Ravelry!

5 thoughts on “The Calling…

  1. Yes, Ravelry can be a very dangerous place! One thing leads to the next, one pattern to another, and before you know it, you’re in the midst of a full-blown case of startitis!

    I’ve never tried colorwork myself, but it looks fun. Maybe if I could just get past my pile of wip’s… Good luck with the finishing.

  2. Colorwork looks really fun. I thought I’d start with some Endpaper Mitts by Eunny Jang. They look sooo nice. Just have to decide which colors…

    Anyway, I think I’m voting Muir. But that’s just me. You’re the one that are going to knit it. 🙂
    Good luck choosing!

  3. I too find that colourwork grows in an unusually fast manner.

    I too would like to vote Muir, although Print is gorgeous.

    A mutual Leonard Coen fan as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

