Fine art…

I was putting together a poster for BAPTARA (a local community group) this morning, after updating the TDFKAL blog, tidying the living room and a bit of knitting (it’s been a long night!) and was suddenly aware of this orange glow, as if the garden was on fire!

Not the garden, but the sky.

It looked like something out of Constable or Turner paintings.

Simply stunning and then within moments the sky changed to this:

and naturally a bit of rain…not enough to water the garden though, so that’s another job to do before my day even begins!

As I was mulling around blogland in the early hours, and visiting those blogs I like to visit, for one reason or another…KnitCave’s is obvious…she’s done this book meme, which I saw, oooh a long time ago now, so I’m not going to go through it all again, only because I feel there should be more fantastic books on there which aren’t.

Such as

This is the book I’m reading at the moment, or I was until the Tour started. I love this guy’s books and everyone should read at least one. I recommend “The Man who Mistook his Wife for a Hat”, or “Island of the Colourblind”, and everyone knows “The Awakenings” . Or, in fact any of them, he’s the only guy I know who can make chemistry, neurology and psychology thrilling and understandable.

I don’t think there’s any Angela Carter on the list either, or Iris Murdoch or JP Donlevey or even

Dylan Thomas! Are there any other books you feel should be added to the list? Really, I’m interested.

Anyway.

Knitting.

The “Pink Twist” from Shunklies arrived and I decided that just in case I do run out, to make the middle of my scarf pink.

And as I’m feeling a bit more relaxed about lace knitting, I thought I’d go for something that takes a little bit more care and concentration. Right now I’m knitting another Diamond Border, then I shall add this:

in place of the Fishtale Panel at the beginning of the scarf, and continue to knit Fern Diamonds in the middle. Let’s just hope I don’t get too confident and end up falling off my bike within inches of the finish line.

Oh and for those local people reading:

poster

“Is not this whole world an illusion? And yet it fools everybody” Angela Carter.

One thought on “Fine art…

  1. Wow. What an amazing sky and isn’t it wonderful that you were able to capture it. Thanks for the book recommendations too. I’ve never read any Oliver Sacks…I think I’d try The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat on the strength of the title alone! ( I’ve just finished Alias Grace by Margaret Attwood and loved all the references to Victorian domestic arts.)
    Happy weekend. =]

Leave a Reply

