Bringing it back home…

I had, well no, Mavis had a wonderful parcel yesterday, she was at first thrilled about the amount of stamps on it, but before I could take a photo, she had ripped it open and these were the photos I did get…

Recognise that beautifully knitted beret? Yes, that’s Jennifer’s le beret de ma fille who very kindly sent it to Mavis and she loves it. Even though it was pretty warm for these parts yesterday, she kept it on all day! And the book that came with it, Coliin Thiele’s “Farmer Schulz’s Ducks” is fantastic!

Thank you so, so much Jennifer!

So, it’s the last day of the Tour de France, the day where whoever is left of the cyclists tear up the Champs-Elysées (is it this street where the McDonald’s sign is white?) and on to the Arc de Triomphe, thankfully they take the cars away, if I remember rightly, it’s a nightmare getting around that roundabout!

Hee hee!

I can’t really pick a winner, I don’t understand the rules and point system enough, but as far as I can make out, it’s looking like Carlos Sastre to win today, or is that just to keep the Yellow Jersey and Oscar (?) Freire has the most points at the minute, Oh I don’t know! Either way, it’s gonna be a damn good race.

As for the KAL, I’m feeling a bit happier about “Diamants de Foegre” now that I’m not knitting lace anymore! I’m still working on it, but just plain knitting in the round.

I’ll keep going until I feel it’s long enough and put some elastic in the top and wear it out on my birthday. I I’m really enjoying the drape and the fabric and the colours too, now that I’m not concentrating too much on just the knitting and having to get it right. I admire anyone who can create these beautiful fabrics and who knows. maybe when all the children are grown up and I’ve done my PGCE, I can try again.

Hope you’re having a great weekend.

4 thoughts on “Bringing it back home…

  1. I love how your lace is looking so far. Great colours!!

    that would be Sastre in the yellow jersey to win the overall race, and Freire to win the green jersey which is points for finishing consistently in the first few each stage. if that makes sense 😉

  2. your lace was doing just fine all things considered, it looks lovely, and it’s gong to make an excellent skirt, I always love your can do positive attitude, where I may have got cross with it and frogged it in a fury, you have transformed a scarf into a skirt!

Leave a Reply

