Nadolig Llawen a Blwyddyn Newidd da!

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Remember that job I was telling you about? I got it! And though I’m sad to leave all my 2-3 yr olds behind, I am really looking forward to this new challenge, especially as this is what I have always wanted to do. Now I can relax a little…right?

Well of course not, it’s Christmas! The tree and the lights are up (and apparently staying that way!)

tree

I do like my tree, well actually no, I like my decorations. Thay are either handmade or sent from different countries.

tree2

This one is from Florida.

tree3

This one is from Germany, and so on….

tree5

This one is this year’s favourite, made by Dylan. I don’t really do decorations other than the tree, I just can’t stand the plasticky-tacky-ness of them and don’t even mention balloons!  Big J insisted on hanging tree lights on the windows, which are actually looking pretty good (just as long as they stay up !!)

I feel like I should be  running around like a headless chicken, hoping my presents will be well received and feeling guilty about those I haven’t sent yet,  hoping I get all the food needed and don’t forget anything and on top of that, trying to get the house organised to fit 4 more people in!

I’m not….this year seems to be more peaceful than last year, calmer and slower and more manageable. I think my motto for the new year will be “don’t stress over things I can’t change”.

Talking about presents. I got a bit of Christmas knitting done.

mosaic3150994

Keanu’s Christmas Jacket is almost finished, I just need to do the ribbing around the edges, Mya’s Malabrigo (thanks Jen xx) hat and bootees are finished. Charlie’s mouses are no longer Charlie’s and will now go to her cousin and Charlie shall have a hat and scarf,  (it’s a size thing) I don’t have a photo of those yet, but just need to finish the hat……by tomorrow? We shall see.  Oh and I managed to squeeze in a quick hat for me, knitted in the handspun “Teigr”. Braided jumper isn’t finished yet as I had hoped but I knew I’d struggle with the boring sleeves. Once Christmas is over, I shall settle down to it again and have it finished hopefully by the time I go back to work.

So, what’s left to be said, other than to wish you all a very merry Christmas, hope it is all you want it to be and best wishes, not just for the new year, but forever.

With all this talk about Xfactor always taking the Christmas N0 1 spot and some frantically downloading the  Jeff Buckley version of  (I hasten to add Leonard Cohen’s)  “Hallelujah” , I thought I’d b a little different (well you know me) and share this one. Enjoy x

6 thoughts on “Nadolig Llawen a Blwyddyn Newidd da!

  1. Well done on getting the job!
    You have to be special (patient and positive and resourceful) to work well with children who have autism ~ congratulations!
    Your Christmas tree is lovely.
    I haven’t even put mine up yet…but my cards are done. I’m being philosophical about it too…I’m telling myself I don’t have to be superwoman…
    Your knitting looks fabulous. I’m just about to retire to the couch to crochet a few last minute presents.
    I hope you and your family have a joyful Christmas and a wonderful New Year.
    x

  2. Congratulations on the job and good luck! I’m sure that’s exciting. That really was a gorgeous version of Hallelujah – I love the way music can transcend language.

  3. What a fab looking tree, R. We love to add new decorations that bring back memories too – I’m getting old and a bit teary as we put it up each year, with the girls’s lives mapped out in baubles…

    Hope you and yours are having a wonderful festive season – and hope that 2009 brings you all health and happiness.

    Great news about the new job. You’ll be great at it! Well done you:o)

  4. Lovely ornaments! I collect ornaments as well – our tree is always filled with special ornaments, and not many of the store bought normal bulbs that always break anyhow! 🙂

    I also love the yarn! I recently have started teaching myself how to crochet. With being on bedrest, I’ve found it to be so relaxing!

    Congrats on a new job and I wish you a wonderful New Year!

Leave a Reply

