The Weekend

It’s been a long time since bloggin’, I know, but there was a reason.

Last weekend we had been invited up to Trefalen Farm so I could meet the alpacas whos fleece I have been spinning. But alas, there were no buses running on a Friday to Bosherton….Saturday was impossible as there are only 2 buses running, we would not have got back in time to see the fantastic John Tams play in Pennar.

We left it to this weekend….it was wet to say the least. The wind was blowing a gale and the sand on Broad Haven beach was painful! But we went anyway….well if you stayed inside every time it rained around here, you’d never see daylight!

churchrock

Church Rock off Broad Haven Beach.

Because the wind spooks the horses, I wasn’t able to get up close to the alpaca field….I could see them from a distance though.

alpaca2

From left to right “William”, “Petroc” and “Lord Cawdor”.

There’s always something special about knowing where your products come from, like buying meat and veg from a Farmer’s market and getting to know them, growing your own, raising your own animals (oh I wish!).

When you buy from a supermarket or a shop on the internet, you kinda become detattched from the fact that someone somewhere has put all this hard work in to producing the item. I love these stores like Etsy, Folksy, Artfire and many others, not only are you made aware that theser items are made by one single person, but you can get to know them, understand why they produce these things, and knowing the love and sweat that goes into it makes them all the more special and precious.

As we’re talkin’ handmade, InkberryBlue asked if she could see what I got up to over the Easter holidays. As I mentioned in the last post, I was doing two Easter craft workshops at the Youth Centre in Pembroke Dock.

They went very well and thank you all that came along.

youthcentre-011

Easter Baskets made from card and tissue and filled them with these wonderful felt pens shaped like eggs.

youthcentretoo-006

We decorated paper flower pots,stuffed them with tissue, made flowers from straws and card, and filled the top with mini Easter eggs.

youthcentretoo-001

As these went well, I did another two craft days the following week. Where we did all types of crafts, from mixed media mark making, weaving, spinning and cardmaking.

cspo

These structures were originally the lanterns that were made for the Midwinter festival. I love recycling!

As much as I am so, so glad to be back at work, I would love to have the time to get things made for my online store, get some of my knitting finished, spin more yarn….oh the list is endless!!

Still we can’t have it all can we?

It’s not going to stop me from trying though!

Oh and someone mentioned they thought I had changed my blog site….I have but I’m using this one too, so you can choose whichever you want to respond too.

8 thoughts on “The Weekend

  1. We were on Broad Haven sands last summer and it was certainly not quite as windswept as that but we could hear the Army fighting in the distance! I love the lilly pond on the way to the beach but never noticed any alpacas – must look harder next time!! I know there are a load of Alpacas up at Solva and they sell the fleeces, only cos I just saw them this weekend at WonderWool. Good to hear you’re feeling better and back to being a busy bee! Take care!

  2. Oh how fun to get to see the alpacas, even if it wasn’t close up! That connection between animal and product is really neat.

    I know how you feel about not having enough time – there’s so much I want to do (outside of what I need to do), but not nearly enough time to get it all finished.

  3. Looks like you had a nice trip, even if you couldn’t get that close to the alpacas – they look cute anyway. 😀 I love the little things you’ve been making for Easter, my kids made a load of stuff!!

  4. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog and the sweet comment. I just finished browsing around on yours and I thoroughly enjoyed it. 🙂
    I do love the photos of the countryside. It’s nice to see what it’s like in your neck of the woods.
    Hugs!

  5. I’ve been up to Broadhaven, many years ago when I lived in Cardiff! Seen many alpacas from all around the country and been spinning alpaca for the last two days at a competition, been close enough to stroke quite a few too, and going to go book a local walk with alpacas for us all! Sorry to hear about your hubs job…hope it’s just a case of one door closing and another one opening! x

  6. Thanks for posting your Easter craft activities! They look like they were lots of fun too make. (I made Easter chicks with the the children I work with ~ using pompoms, googly eyes and some card and pipecleaners. They were super quick and the kids fell in love with them.)
    …and I’m completely with you on the joy of buying things that are handmade and home~grown.

  7. Broadhaven is absolutely one of my all time favourite beaches. We camped at bosherston and walk down past the lily ponds and back over the cliffs – I saw my first otter playing in those pools.
    Hope you and yours are well.
    X

Leave a Reply

